Mace Rothenberg, MD
About Us
Current Events
Past Events
Policy & Reports
Media Coverage
Contact Us
Mace Rothenberg, MD
Chief Medical Officer

As Chief Medical Officer of Pfizer, Mace Rothenberg leads Pfizer’s Worldwide Medical & Safety organization responsible for ensuring that patients who receive a Pfizer medicine or vaccine, and health care professionals who prescribe or administer them have the efficacy and safety information they need to make appropriate, informed decisions. Dr. Rothenberg is a member of Pfizer’s Portfolio Strategy and Investment Committee, Worldwide Research, Development, and Medical Leadership Team, and Senior Leadership Council.  Outside of his responsibilities at Pfizer, Dr. Rothenberg co-chairs the Life Sciences Consortium of the CEO Roundtable on Cancer, is a member of the National Cancer Policy Forum of the National Academy of Medicine, and serves on the NYU School of Medicine’s Alumni Board of Governors.

Dr. Rothenberg joined Pfizer in 2008 after 25 years in academia where he focused on early-stage drug development, clinical trial design, and the coordinated laboratory-clinical evaluation of new therapies for gastrointestinal cancers.  While in academia, Dr. Rothenberg chaired the pivotal clinical trials that led to FDA approval of 3 new medicines: irinotecan (CPT-11, Camptosar®) and oxaliplatin (Eloxatin®) for colorectal cancer, and one of the key trials used as the basis for approval of gemcitabine (Gemzar®) for pancreatic cancer.  In his 10 years to date at Pfizer, first as Head of Clinical Development & Medical Affairs for Oncology and next as the Chief Development Officer for Oncology, Dr. Rothenberg’s organization was responsible for the successful development and regulatory approval of 11 new cancer medicines: crizotinib (Xalkori®) and lorlatinib (Lorbrena/Lorviqua®) for ALK+ non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), axitinib (Inlyta®) for renal cell carcinoma, bosutinib (Bosulif®) for Ph+ chronic myelogenous leukemia, palbociclib (Ibrance®) for ER+ advanced breast cancer (Prix Galien Award winner in 2016 for Best Pharmaceutical Product), avelumab (Bavencio®) for Merkel cell and urothelial carcinomas, inotuzumab ozogamicin (Besponsa®) for acute lymphocytic leukemia, gemtuzumab ozogamicin (Mylotarg®) and glasdegib (Daurismo®) for acute myelogenous leukemia, dacomitinib (Vizimpro®) for EGFR mutant NSCLC, and talazoparib (Talzenna®) for BRCA mutant breast cancer.

Dr. Rothenberg is the recipient of the first Craig Saxton Lifetime Achievement Award from Pfizer, the Lane W. Adams Quality of Life Award from the American Cancer Society honoring him as one of the nation's top cancer caregivers, and the Statesman Award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology honoring him for more than 20 years of service to the organization, the specialty of oncology and cancer patients.  He is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians and the American Society of Clinical Oncology.

Dr. Rothenberg received his BA magna cum laude from the University of Pennsylvania in 1978 and his MD from the New York University School of Medicine in 1982.  He received his post-graduate training in Internal Medicine at Vanderbilt University and in Medical Oncology at the National Cancer Institute. Dr. Rothenberg served on the faculties of the University of Texas Health Science Center–San Antonio (1991-1998) and Vanderbilt University (1998-2008).

© 2007 - USA India Chamber of Commerce Home | About us | Agenda | | Policy | Events | Photo Gallery | Awards | Membership | Media Coverage | Internship/Volunteers | Legal | Contact us